Abbotsford Arts Council

Promoting local artists since 1971

September 30th, 2017 at the Reach Gallery

The Arty Awards are hosted annually by the Abbotsford Arts Council to recognize and showcase local artistic excellence in individuals of all ages across multiple genres, ranging from visual art and writing to performance and the culinary arts, as well as community arts advocacy. Please join us on September 30th to celebrate the wealth of artistic talent and the significant impact artists have on our community.

Nominee Celebration Night
September 8th

Thank you to this years Jurors

Allyson D. Friesen
Director of Recreation and Culture
City of Abbotsford

Sandy Blue
City of Abbotsford

Freddy Latham
2016 Arty Awards Lifetime Achievement recipient

Manjit Singh Sandhu
2015 Arty Awards Lifetime Achievement recipient

Alisha Deddens
2016 Arty Awards winner as Arts Advocate

Shannon Thiesen
2016 Arty Awards winner
Outstanding Artist in Visual Arts

Carrie Wachsmann
2016 Artys Awards winner
Outstanding Artist in Literary Arts

Hilary Russell
Library Manager
Fraser Valley Regional Library

Kevin Giesbrecht
Musician. Founding member of the band Hedley

Doreen Jung
Writer, Columnist, Arts Editor, and Photographer

Jordan Strom
Curator – Surrey Art Gallery

Brendan Tang
Artist, Lecturer.
2016 recipient Biennale Internationale de Vallauris Award for Contemporary
Creation and Ceramics

Mary Walsh
Writer, Actor, Producer.
Creator of This Hour Has 22 Minutes, Mary Walsh: Open Book.
Recipient Order of Canada and Governor General’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Craig Northey
Award-winning Musician, Producer, Composer.
The Odds, Corner Gas, Kids In The Hall

Margaret Blackburn
UFV Instructor
Apparel and Couture Design

Colin Nairne
Juno Award-winning musician.
Manager for Elvis Costello, Diana Krall, Ry Cooder.

Jonathan Torrens
Television Host, Actor, Producer
Jonovision, TV with TV’s Jonathan Torrens, Mr. D.

Michelle Leanne
UFV Visual Arts.
Motion picture design, Specialty wardrobe, Video game production.

Rick Wharton
Comic/Producer, The Second City.
Artistic Director – Pembroke Festival Theatre

Sandy Oshiro Rosen – Author, Arts Mentor.
Director - Dance Barn Studio and Mirror Dance Program

Chris Gudgeon
Author, Producer, Journalist.
Past fiction editor Cut To: Magazine, Senior Digital Producer CCI Entertainment

Mark Leiren-Young
Playwrite, Author, Journalist, Television writer.
Leacock Literary Prize for Humour winner. U of Victoria Literary Lecturer