2017 Arty Awards
Congratulations & Thank-you

The Abbotsford Arts Council would like to thank all the sponsors and volunteers who made this event such a success, as well as a big congratulations to this years winners.

Congratulations to the
2017 Nominees

Christine Caldwell Arts Advocate

Presented by CDW & Associates

Winner - Alexandra Blair


Connie Hackett 

Katie Stobbart

Lando Klassen

Emerging Artist

Presented by Meade & Co

Cassidy Luteijn 

Chantelle Fawcett 

Jenna Cook 

Mayday Club Youth Choir For Autism Advocacy

Winner - Meshaal Alzeer 

Lifestyle Award

Presented by Aird Flavel

Winner - Dianna Lewis 

Jil Sonia McDonald

Johannes and Kristina van Vloten 

Literary Artist

Presented by The Cascade

Frances McGuckin 

Harman Kaur

Lisa Caroglanian Dorazio

Winner - Michelle Elrick 

Robyn Roste 

Media Artist

Presented by Slap Communications

Winner - Adam Wormald 

Brittany Cardinal 

Performing Arts

Presented by King’s Music

Chelsea Amber 

Cliff Prang 

Paul Williamson 

Shashi Lata Virk 

Winner - Sunee Dhaliwal 

Visual Arts

Presented by Aldergrove Credit Union

Jeff Stackhouse 

Linda Klippenstein

Winner - Raphael Silver

Sharon Huget 

Youth Achievement 

Presented by Etta Hellyer

Bradin Cummings 

Winner - Caylee Watrin

Lifetime Achievement 

Presented by Freddy Latham

Norm Williams

Honourable Mention

Abbotsford Arts Academy 

Andrew Booth 


Brander Raven McDonald

Felonius Chino 

Jacob Harada 

Kristin Witko

Sarah Wills 

Sharla Sauder 

Simon Bridgefoot 

Tamilee Wills 

Thank you to the 2017 Jurors

Allyson D. Friesen
Director of Recreation and Culture
City of Abbotsford

Sandy Blue
City of Abbotsford

Freddy Latham
2016 Arty Awards Lifetime Achievement recipient

Manjit Singh Sandhu
2015 Arty Awards Lifetime Achievement recipient

Alisha Deddens
2016 Arty Awards winner as Arts Advocate

Shannon Thiesen
2016 Arty Awards winner
Outstanding Artist in Visual Arts

Carrie Wachsmann
2016 Artys Awards winner
Outstanding Artist in Literary Arts

Hilary Russell
Library Manager
Fraser Valley Regional Library

Kevin Giesbrecht
Musician. Founding member of the band Hedley

Doreen Jung
Writer, Columnist, Arts Editor, and Photographer

Jordan Strom
Curator – Surrey Art Gallery

Brendan Tang
Artist, Lecturer.
2016 recipient Biennale Internationale de Vallauris Award for Contemporary
Creation and Ceramics

Mary Walsh
Writer, Actor, Producer.
Creator of This Hour Has 22 Minutes, Mary Walsh: Open Book.
Recipient Order of Canada and Governor General’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Craig Northey
Award-winning Musician, Producer, Composer.
The Odds, Corner Gas, Kids In The Hall

Margaret Blackburn
UFV Instructor
Apparel and Couture Design

Colin Nairne
Juno Award-winning musician.
Manager for Elvis Costello, Diana Krall, Ry Cooder.

Jonathan Torrens
Television Host, Actor, Producer
Jonovision, TV with TV’s Jonathan Torrens, Mr. D.

Michelle Leanne
UFV Visual Arts.
Motion picture design, Specialty wardrobe, Video game production.

Rick Wharton
Comic/Producer, The Second City.
Artistic Director – Pembroke Festival Theatre

Sandy Oshiro Rosen – Author, Arts Mentor.
Director - Dance Barn Studio and Mirror Dance Program

Chris Gudgeon
Author, Producer, Journalist.
Past fiction editor Cut To: Magazine, Senior Digital Producer CCI Entertainment

Mark Leiren-Young
Playwrite, Author, Journalist, Television writer.
Leacock Literary Prize for Humour winner. U of Victoria Literary Lecturer